AGENTS

AGENCY
WPA / wp-a.com

COMMERCIAL
Steven Jacobsteven@wp-a.com
Trevor Kossacktrevor@wp-a.com
Kristen Tolle-Billings / kristen@wp-a.com

FEATURE
Louiza Vick / louiza@wp-a.com
Amber Thompson / amber@wp-a.com

TELEVISION
Frank Balkinfrank@wp-a.com

COMMERCIAL – UK
WPA – UK
Barnaby Laws / Barnaby@wp-a.co.uk

facebook-icon

ABOUT

RICHARD HENKELS’ is an award winning cinematographer whose conceptual but prolific visual style has stood out over the past 20 years. HENKELS is proud to be a part of 2016 Sundance Film Festival with 2 feature documentaries – ‘AUTHOR : the JT LEROY STORY’ (directed by Jeff Feuerzeig) and ‘AMERICAN EPIC’ (executive Prod: Robert Redford).

HENKELS’ documentary credits include an EMMY Award-winning PBS biography about MEL BROOKS for ‘American Masters’ (executive-produced by Susan Lacy), ‘A TASTE OF NATE’ about Nate Wiley and the Crowd Pleasers (Best Doc at FirstGlance 2015), ‘OPEN MINDS : Chris Potter and the Underground’ (Best CinemaJAZZ Award), Bill Carters ‘RED SUMMER’ for The Sundance Channel about the declining salmon population, and the ‘MATRIX REVISITED’ documenting behind-the-scenes accounts of the film ‘The Matrix’.

HENKLES  experience in feature films is equally diverse and prolific.  With horror feature ’CONDEMNED’ (Dir: Eli Gesner, starring Dylan Penn and Lydia Hurst), action-adventure ‘MALL’ (written by Eric Bogosian, Dir: Joe Hahn, starring Vincent D’Onofrio, Gina Gershon, Mimi Rogers and James Frenchville), sci-fi  ‘THE SEED’ winning Outstanding Cinematography Awards, and ‘LIFE BEFORE HER EYES’ (starring Uma Thurman and Evan Rachel Wood).

RICHARD HENKELS, developed his craft at ART CENTER in Pasadena with classmates Tarsem Singh, Zack Snyder and Michael Bay, working on projects for R.E.M., Suzanne Vega and IBM. HENKELS’ early professional experience include shooting with renowned avant-gardist Robert Wilson ‘BLACK RIDER’ on video portraits of Sean Penn, Peter Stormare and Juliette Binoche. This lead HENKELS to shoot music videos with such artists as Alkaline Trio, Linkin Park, Easy-E, Suicidal Tendencies and many more that lead him to 25+ years as a successful commercial cinematographer.